Progress on Electro-Thrall Zombies Book 2

I’m about two thirds the way through writing Book 2 of my Electro-Thrall Zombies series.  The complete series will consist of three longish short stories that together form a short novel.  I should have Book 2 completed in a week or two and available as a Kindle edition.  Like Book 1, there will also be a limited print edition from Golden Posterity Press.  The Book 1 print copies are on their way to me now from the printer and should be here any day.  I’ll announce it here when I start selling copies.

I’m very much enjoying writing this as I have no idea where the plot is going — I’m making it up as I go along.  I like the daring of that.  I know some writers figure out the plot ahead of time, and have detailed outlines and summaries in advance, but I like the riskiness of just going with the flow, flowing my nose, allowing my imagination to decide what the story’s about.  I hope it results in entertaining fiction.

 

About David Barker

David Barker is the author of two works of weird horror fiction written in collaboration with W. H. Pugmire: The Revenant of Rebecca Pascal and In the Gulfs of Dream & Other Lovecraftian Tales (both books were published by the now defunct Dark Renaissance Books, but copies are still available from Dark Regions Press.) Barker and Pugmire also collaborated on a Lovecraftian horror novel, Witches In Dreamland, which will be published by Hippocampus Press, possibly in late 2017. Recently, his stories and poems have appeared in Fungi, Cyaegha, Spectral Realms, The Art Mephitic, The Audient Void, The Indiscriminate Mixture and on Shoggoth.net. He has a short story in the weird fiction anthology, Nightmare's Realm, edited by S. T. Joshi and published in 2017 by Dark Regions Press. He also has published several works of horror and bizarro fiction as Kindle ebooks, including the bizarro zombie novel Dead Guys in Packards. Together with Jordan Hofer, David Barker has written two nonfiction books about UFOs and alien abduction: Little Gray Bastards (published in 2016 by Schiffer Publishing) and Unidentifiable Flying Objects (due in Fall 2017 from Schiffer.)
This entry was posted in Books, ebooks, Fiction, Horror, Novels, Writing, Zombies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Progress on Electro-Thrall Zombies Book 2

  1. mikereverb says:

    Awesome; you and I have pretty much the same writing style. Outlining, plotting, and “beats” are fine for some: if it works for them, I wouldn’t want to change them.

    As for me? I think of the scene as something that unfolds dramatically. It’s thrilling to decide where the story is going as you write; makes it spontaneous, and there’s nothing wrong with that style.

    I’m curious: what’s the basic premise of your zombie book?

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. David Barker says:

    Hi Mike: thanks for the comment. My writing method is to put myself mentally into the character’s head, try to experience the scene before him/her, feel what he/she’s feeling, sense what they’re sensing, think what they’re thinking, react the way they would react, speak using their voice. I don’t know where the story is going until I see it through their eyes. Then, sometimes, if I’m lucky, stuff I didn’t even think about in advance just happens. Of course, at the same time I have a basic Plan B for “how do I get out of this scene?” if nothing amazing comes along. Some way to end that scene gracefully and move on to the next.
    The premise for Electro-Thrall Zombies is that there are four different types of zombies in the world of the story, and one set of characters will interact with each type as the story progresses. It’s slowly moving from fairly peaceful interactions to more violent conflicts. I don’t know if I’ll be taking this work to a full “zombie apocalypse”, but there will be plenty of murder and mayhem by the time I’m done. It’s also (God help me…) a love story. Love under the worst of circumstances.

  3. David Barker says:

    Good question. I’d say the basic premise of my still unfolding zombie book is that the line between being “dead” and being “alive” is a vague thing. I’m exploring what it means to be either one, and using the zombie trope as a way to make that a physical question rather than a purely spiritual issue. It’s not your typical zombie story that is meant to scare and nothing more.

Leave a Reply

