“Ye Olde Lemurian” 1990s H. P. Lovecraft Fanzine

Back in the 1990s, I published a small H. P. Lovecraft fan magazine called “Ye Olde Lemurian.”  I distributed it free to anyone who asked to be put on the mailing list.  The print runs were very small, with something like 10 or 15 copies of the early numbers, building to maybe 30 copies per issue towards the end.  Because of the tiny print run, the zine was doomed to utter obscurity and is practically unknown today.  In Googling, I find very little information about “Ye Olde Lemurian” (or simply “The Lemurian”, as the first few numbers were titled.)  To rectify this situation, I’ve decided to post a summary of the magazine here, giving a brief description of the contents of each issue, the dates they were published, and images of the covers.

Numbers 1 through 11 were issued as separate print publications of a few pages each.  beginning with number 12, “Ye Olde Lemurian” became a column I wrote for the Lovecraftian fiction magazine “Midnight Shambler,” which was a resurrection of a magazine I had edited and published for two issues, this new series being edited by Dr. Robert M. Price and later, Joseph S. Pulver, and published by Necronomicon Press.  Then, in 2000, the (I think) final issue, Number 20, returned as a print zine.  I have a vague notion there may have been a number 21, but I’m not too sure about that and haven’t yet found a printed copy or electronic file for it.

[Edited 3/18/2016: I did a thorough search and found no contents for number #21, just a note that the issue would be titled “A Further Note on Lovecraft, the Group.” I don’t think I actually wrote that installment of “Ye Olde Lemurian.”]

My memory is foggy on the details of this history, and I’ll be checking facts in my files, so the information presented here could change later, but for now, that’s the short version of the life of “Ye Olde Lemurian.”  Much of the content was written by me, the editor and publisher, David Barker — especially in the early issues — but as time went by, other writers contributed material, including fiction, poetry and non-fiction, all of it Lovecraftian horror to some degree.  Some of these contributors went on to become major figures in the field of weird fiction and poetry, something I’ve always been very proud of.  Among them are such luminaries as Ann K. Schwader and Wilum Pugmire, both highly accomplished and respected authors now published by the finest presses in the horror field.  It amazes me to think that I once published them in my humble, utterly unknown little rag.

I’ll give a summary and cover of each print issue in separate blog posts, and list the authors and artists whose work appears in each issue.  I’m toying with idea of reviving “Lemurian”, either in print or as a digital zine, but for now, merely documenting the magazine’s history seems like a good first step.

About David Barker

David Barker is the author of two works of weird horror fiction written in collaboration with W. H. Pugmire: The Revenant of Rebecca Pascal and In the Gulfs of Dream & Other Lovecraftian Tales (both books were published by the now defunct Dark Renaissance Books, but copies are still available from Dark Regions Press.) Barker and Pugmire also collaborated on a Lovecraftian horror novel, Witches In Dreamland, which will be published by Hippocampus Press, possibly in late 2017. Recently, his stories and poems have appeared in Fungi, Cyaegha, Spectral Realms, The Art Mephitic, The Audient Void, The Indiscriminate Mixture and on Shoggoth.net. He has a short story in the weird fiction anthology, Nightmare's Realm, edited by S. T. Joshi and published in 2017 by Dark Regions Press. He also has published several works of horror and bizarro fiction as Kindle ebooks, including the bizarro zombie novel Dead Guys in Packards. Together with Jordan Hofer, David Barker has written two nonfiction books about UFOs and alien abduction: Little Gray Bastards (published in 2016 by Schiffer Publishing) and Unidentifiable Flying Objects (due in Fall 2017 from Schiffer.)
This entry was posted in Fiction, H. P. Lovecraft, Horror, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to “Ye Olde Lemurian” 1990s H. P. Lovecraft Fanzine

  1. Deron Adams says:

    Hi David,
    I am just doing some cataloguing of my own library & it seems I have a few of the old issues #s 4 1/2 [!], 6, 8, 9, 10 & 11.
    It’d be great to get the other missing issues one day.
    They were fine little zines – you are right to be proud!
    Kindest regards,
    Deron Adams

  2. David Barker says:

    Hi Deron, thanks for your comment. It’s good to know someone is finding issues of Lemurian “in the wild” so to speak, meaning you must have acquired them from one of the people on the original mailing list, or via the used book market. Or did I send them to you and have forgotten your name? No matter. Thanks for the kind words. While I have almost no extra issues remaining aside from my own file copies (I may have an extra copy of one issue, not sure), it’s possible there will be a reprint edition some day, a full set of all issues. If so, I will announce it on this blog.

  3. Deron Adams says:

    Hello again, David,
    Just revisiting this site & wondered how the progress is going on getting the reprint for the YOLs?
    Thanks again,
    Deron Adams

  4. David Barker says:

    Hi Deron, Unfortunately, I’ve been so busy with other literary projects — and will be for some time — that reprinting the Lemurian is on the back burner for now. Thanks for asking! David

  5. Hi Deron, David,
    Sorry to but in here but I’ve been trying to track down a copy of Deron’s complete Crypt of Cthulhu Index (The Cryptophile II) so I was wondering if he has any information on where I can find a copy (or whether or not it was actually published). I can be reached directly via the Cyaegha website: http://www.freewebs.com/batglynn/cyaegha.htm
    Best,
    Graeme

  6. David Barker says:

    Howdy, Graeme. No problem — you’re welcome here. Hope you hear from Deron.

  7. Deron Adams says:

    Hi Graeme!
    Wow, that’s an interesting topic! I have not thought of my Cryptophile II for a some time. It was formatted in the same style as Mike Ashley’s Cryptophile, for ease of use.
    I originally submitted it to Robert Price for publication in CoC, but, alas! The timing was just when Necronomicon Press was going through difficult times & although Mr. Price had told me that the Cryptophile II would see the light of day in issue #103 or so, it did not get out there.
    I did circulate a few copies of the incomplete work to some friends, such as Andy Decker from St. Paul, but it is complete, covering issues #51-100 & the completed file still sits on my PC.
    I certainly could send you the file – I think it is in .doc… or is it in .ami? – I’ll have to check!
    I am sure that I’ve re-contacted Mr. Price about publication, but I’ve not heard from him since the initial correspondence many years ago.
    May I ask, just how did you come to hear about my Cryptophile II?
    I will send you a copy of this [rambling!] note to your posted website,
    Kindest regards,
    Deron

  8. Deron Adams says:

    Hi David,
    I forgot to mention that i also do have copies of Midnight Shambler 1 & 2, as well as the Lovecrafter 100th Anniversary issue – all good works!
    Kindest regards, Deron

  9. David Barker says:

    Hi Deron, I like seeing this interesting exchange under my blog post about Ye Olde Lemurian. It’s encouraging to know that someone, somewhere actually reads these things I post, not to mention that people still value the old zines from way back.

  10. Deron Adams says:

    Hi David!
    Hope your Summer is just swell. I thought I’d update you on the Cryptophile. I have polished up the latest version & have passed it on to Graeme for publication. I will update you once it is out there.
    Phew – it took 20 years from initial creation to publication…well. not quite there yet!
    Kindest regards,
    Deron

Leave a Reply

