Poet and small press editor Harry Calhoun has died

Sadly, poet and small press editor Harry Calhoun passed away on October 31, 2015. I didn’t know him well, but we had some very pleasant exchanges by mail and/or email and he sent me at least one, and possibly more of his books and magazines. Shortly after I heard the news, I did a quick search through one of the stacks of poetry books scattered around the house and found one that Harry Calhoun had sent me in 2011, titled. The Insomnia Poems. I immediately reread it and was reminded that it’s truly superb, the language finely crafted, the poems insightful, profound and touching. I don’t recall if I told him that back when I first received it. Harry is best known as the editor and publisher of the tiny poetry magazine, Pig In A Pamphlet. Issue #12, which was an all Bukowski special issue, is famous for the fact that Bukowski’s publisher John Martin objected to Harry publishing a stand alone edition of Bukowski work with no other writers being involved. That issue is titled “then I gave up and started drinking heavily” and is now a rare item that sells for about $200, although the issue price in 1985 was a mere 50 cents. I want to do an exhaustive search through my books to see what else I have of Harry’s. I’m pretty sure it includes issues of Pig In A Pamphlet although I don’t remember having number 12. There may be other chapbooks of his as well, and possibly cards or letters. Harry was a good guy, a gifted poet, and is missed by many. Rest in Peace, Harry.

About David Barker

David Barker is the author of two works of weird horror fiction written in collaboration with W. H. Pugmire: The Revenant of Rebecca Pascal and In the Gulfs of Dream & Other Lovecraftian Tales (both books were published by the now defunct Dark Renaissance Books, but copies are still available from Dark Regions Press.) Barker and Pugmire also collaborated on a Lovecraftian horror novel, Witches In Dreamland, which will be published by Hippocampus Press, possibly in late 2017. Recently, his stories and poems have appeared in Fungi, Cyaegha, Spectral Realms, The Art Mephitic, The Audient Void, The Indiscriminate Mixture and on Shoggoth.net. He has a short story in the weird fiction anthology, Nightmare's Realm, edited by S. T. Joshi and published in 2017 by Dark Regions Press. He also has published several works of horror and bizarro fiction as Kindle ebooks, including the bizarro zombie novel Dead Guys in Packards. Together with Jordan Hofer, David Barker has written two nonfiction books about UFOs and alien abduction: Little Gray Bastards (published in 2016 by Schiffer Publishing) and Unidentifiable Flying Objects (due in Fall 2017 from Schiffer.)
This entry was posted in Biography, Books, Charles Bukowski, Editors, Magazines, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.