Nightmare’s Realm Table of Contents TOC

I feel extremely honored to have a short story in this weird fiction anthology edited by the great S. T. Joshi and published by Dark Regions Press. Years ago, before I officially returned to the horror field but was still writing an occasional horror story on the sly, I would always check the horror section on visits to Powell’s Books in Portland, and whenever I came across a Dark Regions Press title, I would think that someday, somehow, I would love to have something published by DRP, which I’ve always considered the leading contemporary publisher of horror fiction. I had no idea of how that could actually happen. Now, through some mysterious, unimaginable unfolding of events, that dream has come true. Three people had a lot to do with this dream coming true. The first is my friend Obadiah Baird (editor of the weird lit zine, Audient Void), who bought me a ticket to the H.P. Lovecraft Film Festival in 2012 and invited me to attend with him. He even drove. Being a homebody, I had been aware of the HPLFF since it’s inception, but never considered actually driving the 60 miles to attend. Leaving town just wasn’t in my play book. The second person who helped this dream come true was my wife, Judy, who insisted I break out of my shell and urged me to go with Ob to the festival. She knew I would have a good time if I just gave it a chance. And the third person who helped me realize the dream of being published by Dark Regions Press was my old pal, legendary Lovecraftian author, W, H. Pugmire. Wilum and I had corresponded by snail mail back in the 80s and 90s. I published a few of his pieces in various Lovecraft fanzines that I edited, and he published one or two of my pieces in his zines. I lost touch with him sometime in the 90s, but I was aware that after I had left the horror field, he went on to establish a very solid reputation as one of the very finest prose artists in modern horror. Wilum did a reading at the 2012 HPLFF which I enthusiastically attended. Afterwards, I went up to him rather sheepishly and introduced myself (we had never met in person before), asking if he remembered me from the old days. He did, and gave me a very warm welcome. Later, we became Facebook friends, and eventually collaborated on two books of Lovecraftian fiction: the short novel, The Revenant of Rebecca Pascal, and the story collection, In the Gulfs of Dream. Both of these books were beautifully published by Dark Renaissance Books. Wilum and I did signings of these books at various cons, I met many other writers, editors, publishers and fans in the horror field, and eventually it came to pass that I was invited by the esteemed S. T. Joshi to submit a story for Nightmare’s Realm. I jumped on this opportunity, wrote the best tale I could, and was floored when Joshi accepted it. I truly believe this happened not because I was friends with Wilum and had met Joshi at one of the Lovecraft Festivals (I’ve attended each one since 2012), but because, through the process of collaborating with Wilum and really pushing myself to produce the best work I was capable of, I had grown as a writer, to the degree where I was  able to craft a story good enough for Joshi to accept. So, long story short, Obadiah, Judy, and Wilum each in their own way helped me realize that impossible dream of being published by  Dark Regions Press, and I thank them from the bottom of my heart. Okay, here’s the table of contents for Nightmare’s Dream. I’m in there with some real heavy hitters, including Lovecraft and Poe themselves:

Nightmare’s Realm Table of Contents

Introduction by S. T. Joshi
Prologue: To a Dreamer by H. P. Lovecraft
The Dreamed by Ramsey Campbell
A Predicament by Darrell Schweitzer
Kafkaesque by Jason V Brock
Beneath the Veil by David Barker
Dreams Downstream by John Shirley
Death-Dreaming by Nancy Kilpatrick
Cast Lots by Richard Gavin
The Wake by Steve Rasnic Tem
Dead Letter Office by Caitlín R. Kiernan
The Art of Memory by Donald Tyson
What You Do Not Bring Forth by John Langan
The Barrier Between by W. H. Pugmire
Sleep Hygiene by Gemma Files
Purging Mom by Jonathan Thomas
The Fifth Stone by Simon Strantzas
In the City of Sharp Edges by Stephen Woodworth
An Actor’s Nightmare by Reggie Oliver
Epilogue: Dream-Land by Edgar Allan Poe

nightmares-realm-cover-work-variation3-600px

 

About David Barker

David Barker is the author of two works of weird horror fiction written in collaboration with W. H. Pugmire: The Revenant of Rebecca Pascal and In the Gulfs of Dream & Other Lovecraftian Tales (both books were published by the now defunct Dark Renaissance Books, but copies are still available from Dark Regions Press.) Barker and Pugmire also collaborated on a Lovecraftian horror novel, Witches In Dreamland, which will be published by Hippocampus Press, possibly in late 2017. Recently, his stories and poems have appeared in Fungi, Cyaegha, Spectral Realms, The Art Mephitic, The Audient Void, The Indiscriminate Mixture and on Shoggoth.net. He has a short story in the weird fiction anthology, Nightmare's Realm, edited by S. T. Joshi and published in 2017 by Dark Regions Press. He also has published several works of horror and bizarro fiction as Kindle ebooks, including the bizarro zombie novel Dead Guys in Packards. Together with Jordan Hofer, David Barker has written two nonfiction books about UFOs and alien abduction: Little Gray Bastards (published in 2016 by Schiffer Publishing) and Unidentifiable Flying Objects (due in Fall 2017 from Schiffer.)
This entry was posted in Books, Fiction, H. P. Lovecraft, Horror, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.