An H. P. Lovecraft Style Breakfast

I’ve read that the great 20th Century horror author H. P. Lovecraft’s favorite breakfast meal consisted of donuts and cheese — a rather odd sounding combination. I don’t eat donuts very often because they do weird things to my blood sugar level (it soars and then plunges), but I happened to have a box of donuts on hand and thought I would try Lovecraft’s breakfast just as a matter of curiosity, he being my favorite author. The donut was a standard glazed Krispy Kreme and the cheese was a simple chunk of cheddar. Lovecraft’s favorite drink was coffee, which I always have for breakfast, so that fit right in. I was expecting this would be a strange — possibly even gross — mixture of flavors and textures which might leave me feeling somewhat less than healthy, but actually it was a very pleasant combination that had no ill effects on my sense of well-being. I took a bite of donut, followed by a bite of cheese, washed that down with a sip of black coffee, and repeated this routine until my plate was clean. The flavors complimented each other quite nicely, with the donut’s childish sweetness and lightness being balanced by the cheese’s adult-like tartness and heaviness. The two vastly different foods went together quite well. Even better, the bizarre combination of donut and cheese had no effect whatsoever on my blood sugar level. I know very little about nutrition, but my guess is that the protein in the cheese offset the sugary carbs in the donut. There was no sugar high followed by a sugar low. It was a good combination, although not one that I would make a regular diet of. Donuts, for me, are something to be kept as an occasional treat, and not a dietary staple. But still, well done, Lovecraft!

About David Barker

David Barker is the author of two works of weird horror fiction written in collaboration with W. H. Pugmire: The Revenant of Rebecca Pascal and In the Gulfs of Dream & Other Lovecraftian Tales (both books were published by the now defunct Dark Renaissance Books, but copies are still available from Dark Regions Press.) Barker and Pugmire also collaborated on a Lovecraftian horror novel, Witches In Dreamland, which will be published by Hippocampus Press, possibly in late 2017. Recently, his stories and poems have appeared in Fungi, Cyaegha, Spectral Realms, The Art Mephitic, The Audient Void, The Indiscriminate Mixture and on Shoggoth.net. He has a short story in the weird fiction anthology, Nightmare's Realm, edited by S. T. Joshi and published in 2017 by Dark Regions Press. He also has published several works of horror and bizarro fiction as Kindle ebooks, including the bizarro zombie novel Dead Guys in Packards. Together with Jordan Hofer, David Barker has written two nonfiction books about UFOs and alien abduction: Little Gray Bastards (published in 2016 by Schiffer Publishing) and Unidentifiable Flying Objects (due in Fall 2017 from Schiffer.)
This entry was posted in Biography, H. P. Lovecraft, Horror and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.